PDA

View Full Version : Calling all Career Planners. I need help.

Reddbone
11-15-10, 05:39 PM
I sincerely hope that I'm not violating some TOS by posting this here, but I don't have much time tonight, and I've got a big issue to deal with. Allow me to apologize in advance for any errors.

About 4 months ago, I was identified as overweight and placed on BCP. This is my first time around, so it's a mandatory 6 months, of course. The problem is this: My EAS is December 10th. I don't finish BCP until January 7th. Because I'm in BCP, my re-enlistment code is 3P, which is a no go. I was told that I could extend my contract long enough to finish BCP, and then re-enlist and latmove like I had intended to. Unfortunately, I've just been told that the criteria for extending my contract is much the same as re-enlisting, and my 3P status makes me ineligible. Because they waited until now to inform me of this, I hadn't put any thought into getting out. I don't have any medical issues, injuries, or anything else that could hold me up, and aside from BCP I've never been in trouble. Now, because I'd been told that I could extend, I never worried about Seps/TAMPS or any of the other EAS stuff most Marines deal with long before they actually EAS. Well, I got told today to start doing my Seps/TAMPS, TMO, Base Housing, and Final Physical paperwork, because I'm not able to extend, re-enlist, or anything else. Basically, the long and short of it is this: It's currently Nov. 15th, and I've got until Dec. 09th to get all my stuff in order, find a place to live (in California) and find the money to pay for rent and whatever else. I understand that the situation I'm in is my fault, but I'm at a loss here. I want to re-enlist. I don't want to go back to being a civilian. I like being a Marine. But, worst case scenario, if I could just extend long enough to get my affairs in order, that would be enough.